15 years ago – The EU Big Enlargement Signed and Delivered

Reading Time: < 1 minute


The 16 of April 2018 marks the 15th anniversary of the signing of the accession treaties of Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia, which was held during the Informal European Council of Athens.

The signing ceremony of the Treaty of Accession of the Future Member States of the EU was held during the Informal European Council of Athens, under the Greek Presidency. The ten new acceding members represented by the Heads of State or Government and the Ministers for Foreign Affairs, signed the Accession Treaty in view of joining the Union on 1 May 2004. The current Member States of the EU have also signed the “Treaty concerning accession to the European Union of 2003.

This 5th EU enlargement was validated during the European Council of Copenhagen in December 2002.

And on the 1st of May 2004 these 10 countries became full-fledged Members of the EU, bringing to 25 the number of EU Member States.


DE Master Logo@2x-100

Once you're here...

%d bloggers like this: