FACTBOX-China’s new elite Communist Party leadership

Reading Time: 2 minutes

BEIJING, Oct 23 (Reuters) – China’s Xi Jinping on Sunday secured a third term as leader of the Communist Party and unveiled a new seven-member Politburo Standing Committee, which he heads, that will determine the path of the country’s development in the next five years. 

Below are the personnel elected on Sunday by the Central Committee, the biggest of the party’s top decision-making bodies, to the pinnacle of China’s political power. 

A multiple exposure photo shows Chinese President Xi Jinping at a press conference introducing the new members of the Standing Committee of the Political Bureau of the 20th Chinese Communist Party (CPC) Central Committee at the Great Hall of People in Beijing, China, 23 October 2022. The members of the Politburo Standing Committee in China represent the collective supreme power of the Chinese Communist Party for the next five years. EPA-EFE/MARK R. CRISTINO

General Secretary of the Central Committee: 

Xi Jinping

Standing Committee of the Political Bureau, or Politburo, of the Central Committee (seven members): 

Xi Jinping, 69; Li Qiang, 63; Zhao Leji, 65; Wang Huning, 67; Cai Qi, 66; Ding Xuexiang, 60; Li Xi, 66

Politburo of the Central Committee (24 members): 

Ding Xuexiang, Xi Jinping, Ma Xingrui, Wang Yi, Wang Huning, Yin Li, Shi Taifeng, Liu Guozhong, Li Xi, Li Qiang, Li Ganjie, Li Shulei, Li Hongzhong, He Weidong, He Lifeng, Zhang Youxia, Zhang Guoqing, Chen Wenqing, Chen Jining, Chen Miner, Zhao Leji, Yuan Jiajun, Huang Kunming, Cai Qi 

Central Military Commission Chairman: 

Xi Jinping

Central Commission for Discipline Inspection Secretary: 

Li Xi

(Reporting by Albee Zhang and Ryan Woo; Editing by William Mallard)

Once you're here...

%d bloggers like this: