30 years of the Maastricht Treaty

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Thirty years ago, Maastricht Treaty was signed by the then twelve members of the European Community – – Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Spain, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Holland, Portugal And Kingdom United . The Treaty created today’s ‘European Union’ and represented the biggest single transformative text on European integration since the Treaty of Rome in 1958.

It provided for a single currency, a common foreign and security policy, closer cooperation in justice and home affairs, and institutional reforms.

The Maastricht Treaty was signed on 7 February 1992 and had a profound impact on the development of European integration. The EU, as we know it today, owes its name and its nature to a treaty born in a Dutch city on the banks of the Meuse.

Photo – The Treaty of the European Union, also known as Treaty of Maastricht and the signatures of the 12 Ministers for Foreign Affairs and for Finance of the Member States around

Read more here

Once you're here...

%d bloggers like this: