In Pictures – Robert Abela sworn as Prime Minister / Malta News Briefing – Monday 28 March 2022

Reading Time: 4 minutes

1745- Latest News update

Times of Malta says both Adrian Delia and Joe Giglio said they will not contest the upcoming Nationalist Party leadership election.

MaltaToday says Robert Abela was sworn in as Prime Minister of Malta, at the President’s Palace in Valletta on Monday.

Newsbook says ADPD Chairperson Carmel Cacopardo will step down as leader of the green party to make way for regeneration.

TVM says the Nationalist Party’s vote count plunged by 9.2% in 2022 when compared to its last general election showing in 2017.

Update 1451: The Electoral Commission announced that PN candidates Toni Bezzina and newcomer Ian Vassallo were elected to fill the additional seats of Members of the House of Representatives according to a constitutional provision, to ensure that the number of MPs in parliament is proportional to the total share of votes the party received. The Labour Party will have a nine-seat majority in Parliament.

Update 1230 – Swearing-in ceremony in Pictures

Photos: Matthew Camilleri iCAM – via President Vella Facebook Page

Update 1150 The Electoral Commission, through the Department of Information, published the full results of the March 26th Election.

Update 1125 Dr Robert Abela was sworn in as Prime Minister of Malta, following the electoral victory in Saturday’s election. Abela served as Prime Minister since January 2020, following his elections as Leader of the Labour Party. Dr Abela was sworn in the role by President Vella, and was accompanied by Dr Lydia Abela and their daughter Giorgia Mae. Present for this ceremony was Dr George Abela, President Emeritus, and also the father of the Prime Minister.

Following the ceremony, Dr Abela and his family went in the balcony of the President’s Palace in Valletta to greet the Labour Party supporters present for this ceremony.

Update 1105

Update 0805

Elected MPs

First District

PL Keith Azzopardi Tanti, Deo DebattistaAaron Farrugia 

PNMario de Marco, Darren Carabott 

Second District

PL – Robert Abela, Alison Zerafa Civelli, Chris Agius, Clyde Caruana

PN – Stephen Spiteri

Third District

PL  – Chris Fearne, Carmelo Abela, Owen Bonnici, Andy Ellul

PN – Stephen Spiteri

Fourth District

PL – Chris Fearne, Byron Camilleri, Jonathan Attard, Chris Bonnet

PN – Mark Anthony Sammut

Fifth District

PL – Robert Abela, Owen Bonnici, Miriam Dalli, Stefan Zrinzo Azzopardi

PN – Bernard Grech

Sixth District

PL – Silvio Schembri, Roderick Galdes, Ian Borg

PN – Ryan Callus, Jerome Caruana Cilia

Seventh District

PL – Ian Borg, Silvio Schembri, Julia Farrugia Portelli,

PN – Ryan Callus, Adrian Delia

Eight District

PN Beppi Fenech Adami, Adrian Delia, Justin Schembri,

PL Edward Zammit Lewis, Clyde Caruana

Ninth District

PN – Ivan J Bartolo, Robert Arrigo, Joe Giglio

PL – Michael Falzon and Clifton Grima

Tenth District

PN – Mark Anthony Sammut, Robert Arrigo, Joe Giglio

PL – Michael Falzon, Clifton Grima

Eleventh District

PN – Bernard Grech, Ivan Bartolo, David Agius

PL – Alex Muscat, Miriam Dalli

Twelfth District

PN – Graziella Galea, Ivan Castillo, Robert Cutajar

PL – Clayton Bartolo, Michael Farrugia

Thirteenth District

PL – Jo-Etienne Abela, Clint Camilleri, Anton Refalo

PN – Alex Borg and Chris Said

Labour’s Evarist Bartolo, Jose Herrera, Rosianne Cutajar and PN’s Jason Azzopardi, Karol Aquilina and Claudette Buttigieg were among the notorious MPs which were not re-elected.  

Labour returns 39,474 majority

The Labour Party has won the 2022 general election by an increase majority confirming Prime Minister Robert Abela in Castille.

According to early morning estimates, the Labour Party was returned to power with a 39,474 majority, equivalent to some 55.1% of the vote. The PN stood at 41.7% and the smaller parties 3.2%. Labour has wont eight districts, with the PN taking home only the 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th and 12th. This is expected to translate itself into an 11-seat majority.

Leaders react to result

At the counting hall in Naxxar, PM Robert Abela said that “The people have decided that Malta should keep on progressing,” he said at the counting hall later. Addressing festive supporters, Abela said that his party’s thousand promises need to be implemented. “Work must start immediately and together we will reach the new targets,” Abela concluded.

PN leader Bernard Grech said that he would contest again the election for party leadership.
“Instead of a two-thirds majority that Labour was projecting months ago, today we have a Labour victory but still the PN is here. We had a positive campaign, that put across our vision,” Grech said on his party’s political station. He said the PN would also give a voice to those who decided to stay at home this election.

Once you're here...